A Major Cause of Wrongful Convictions …….. POLITICS !?

Good piece today by Phil Locke on Wrongful Convictions, and a good comment by fellow Wrongful Convictions Blog blogger Martin Yant. Made me think of a story I wrote a couple of years ago about reasons prosecutors and LEOs have a hard time admitting error. In it, Santa Clara County, California, Special Assistant District Attorney David Angel hit, I thought, on some other points relevant to Phil’s post. Angel spoke of the need for a shift. Snip <“…it needs to really shift from this kind of highly moralistic, punitive view. Maybe it’s a cause for embarrassment, but it’s not a cause for shame.” He believes prosecutors have drawn the short straw in language, noting that defense attorneys who err are called “ineffective” and judges are “reversed” while prosecutorial error alone is labeled “misconduct,” with all the attendant negative connotations. Angel believes that most prosecutors are willing to admit to mistakes but that “people are very hesitant to admit to something that’s called ‘misconduct,’ because it makes you feel like you did something morally wrong.”> Something else to consider. http://www.psmag.com/legal-affairs/why-cant-law-enforcement-admit-when-its-wrong-48329

Wrongful Convictions Blog

[Editor’s note: this piece has been very difficult to write.  I’ve been working on it for months, and have deliberated about publishing it at all; I think because the objective it advocates is so daunting.  But I do think it goes to the heart of so much that is wrong with the justice system. I do not have hard data to support my position, and I doubt such data will ever exist, but I do have decades of study and careful observation.  I only report what I observe. Please read it, and just think about it.]

This article will be both editorial and somewhat philosophical, at least to the extent that it expresses conclusions on my part, so please bear with me. But it does address an issue that I believe is one of the key flaws in the justice system – and one that seems to be universally overlooked…

View original post 1,466 more words

Leave a Reply

